Plot of land called Barsov Hill is situated in Khanty-Mansiisky Autonomous Area, in the Tyumen region, Russia. This picturesque place has long been interesting scientists, local historians and tourists. It stretches for 8, 5 km. on the high right bank of the Ob river. Scientists suggest that the first people appeared there about 7000 years ago. In the eastern part of the place, in the flood-lands flows a branch, ‘Utoplaya’ (in Russian means ‘drowned’). According to the legend, an Ostyak prince Bars (Barz) drowned himself in it after being defeated by the Cossack forces. Thus, the river and the hill were named after the prince.
Over 30 sits, locations and a burial ground dating from the Stone Age (5000-3000 BC) were discovered on Barsov Hill, some dozens of sits dating from the Bronze Age (2000-the early 1000 BC) also remained till the present day. The early Iron Age (VII century BC – III century AD) is represented on the Hill by the three archaeological cultures. Since that time there have remained about a hundred sits and forty sites of ancient settlement. There were also discovered unique defenses in the form of bastions. Two of the four well-known Kulaisky burial places in the West-Siberian taiga as well as the sanctuary of this culture, dating from a turn of the centuries, are situated on Barsov Hill. Twenty sites of ancient cities, dozens of sites of ancient villages, sanctuaries, buried treasures date from the Middle Ages (IV-XVI centuries AD).
The finds made on Barsov Hill are kept in the museums of Western Europe, in the Hermitage (Saint Petersburg), in Yekaterinburg, Tyumen, Surgut, Perm and Tomsk. In 1980s Ural scientists elaborated the project of organization and development of the natural and archaeological park, or nature reserve of ‘Barsov Hill’.
The information is provided by Yuri Chemyakin, Doctor of History, senior research worker of Ural State University).